Rome is Crazy

When going to Italy, it is a must to explore the grandeur that is Rome. Even just once. Because where else can you turn a corner and just see frescoes and sculptures just casually hanging out on a street wall? In what other city can you find 900 churches, all of them so gorgeous in their own right? I’m just getting started here.

Our family is currently on this month-long trip in Europe, exploring Italy for most of it, and of course we started our adventure in Rome. My parents had been to Rome just last year, but it was a first for both my sister and I. Safe to say we hit as many stops as we could.

We explored most of Christian Rome first, this means the Vatican Museum, and St. Peter’s Basilica. Now, lemme just talk about the Basilica for a bit, because that is a church. I mean, I know God is everywhere, but if there ever was a place that could renew your faith, it would be St. Peter’s Basilica. Stepping inside is just a different experience entirely. It quite literally took my breath away. And praying inside the Chapel of the Blessed Sacrament (which I did) is quite an experience. Overwhelming is a good way to describe it.

The Sistine Chapel inside the Vatican Museum is also a must see. My sister and I had the opportunity to be blessed inside the chapel, because there was a priest that was offering. Again, an overwhelming experienced. Being blessed inside the Sistine Chapel?! What?!? Everyday since we got here, I have uttered the words “Rome is crazy.” And I mean that in the nicest way possible. This whole trip is crazy.

Of course we also had to make our way to Ancient Rome, which includes the colosseum, Palatine Hill, and the Forum. The Colosseum is such an interesting place to learn about ancient roman lifestyle. Of course, everything is much better with an audio guide, but unfortunately, we weren’t able to get one because you can only pay by card (hello Rome, what’s up with that. I don’t have a credit card).

We used a Roma Pass, which counts the Colosseum, the Palatine Hill, and The Forum as one ticket (thank you for that) so we went to Palatine Hill next. I feel like we went in the wrong direction somewhere because we ended up in some contemporary art exhibit. Now don’t get me wrong, art is art. I as a person am just not really into contemporary art. So we kinda breezed through it and somehow ended up in a time machine.The Roman Forum is crazy. I mean… it’s a whole city down there and you really feel like you stepped into a different century (with a million tourists). All these ruins and temples and stones. My shoes got hella dusty but I was like, “It’s ancient dust!” (I know it’s really not, but humor me here).

And if the colosseum and forum were great in the daylight, Rome at night is another world. We went to see both, plus the tomb of the unknown soldier (which, after everything I’ve seen and done and written about so far, is my favorite building in Rome) and I find it grand that they keep everything lit up. Because sometimes, things just look better in the dark. Four for you Rome. You go Rome.

I have so much more to say but I feel lime I’ve rambled pn enough, so I’ll save it for another blog post. I’m gone for about a month, so definitely expect more to come!

As always, despite the large gaps in between posts, thanks for sticking with me.

(Follow my ig stories to get updated on our day-to-day: @explorewithiana)

*shameless plug is shameless*

Leave a Reply

