Hong Kong According to My Stomach

*written and deleted and re-written because it took me so long to finish*

Let me just start by saying I love chinese food. I love dim sum. I love noodles. I love peking duck. It’s just all very good and I would go to Hong Kong and just spend all my money on food. Done. If any of you are in Hong Kong, be sure to not miss out on these places!

This is just going to be a post on the places we went to that I loved. I’m very hungry right now, so don’t be surprised if I go a little overboard. The place we stayed in was in Causeway Bay so expect most of the places mentioned here to be around that area.

King’s Dimsum

Let’s begin with the place that I remember the most. King’s Dim sum is a small restaurant on a corner, with more space outside than in. We went there for breakfast, and I absolutely loved it. We sat outside, had hot tea, and ate to our heart’s content. When you’re hungry and do not speak the native language, you tend to just keep pointing at things on the menu (which is what my dad did) until you realize there is no more space on your table or in your stomach. But hey, as long as your happy right?

I don’t want to mention any particular dish, because it’s dim sum. It was all just very, very wonderful.

(*LITTLE TIP FOR THOSE WHO ARE STINGY ON MONEY: Some restaurants in Hong Kong will charge for tea. You may think it’s free because they put it on your table automatically, BUT IT’S NOT. Just take note of that)

King’s Dimsum: G/F Jardine’s Bazaar, Causeway Bay.
Opening Hours: 07:00 – 00:00

Joy Hing Roasted Meat

ANOTHER AMAZING TINY LITTLE THING. And yet, this tiny little thing has one Michelin star. Imagine that! We ended up here because the restaurant we were originally going to go (Kam’s Roast Goose, which is also worth checking out, from what I’ve seen) to was filled to the brim with people. So we walked a little bit more to look for Joy Hing (given that we were walking with our grandmother, you can imagine this took a while). Once we got there, we saw that it was also pretty full, but we decided to stick it out and wait in line, and needless to say, we were not disappointed.

p1840998
What you see is what you get at Joy Hing

My dad started pointing at things again (there’s a pattern here) and we ended  up getting one big bowl of char siu pork, roast duck, and roast chicken, and a few cups of rice. Absolutely everything tasted absolutely lip-smacking good!! I cannot describe enough how much we loved this place. It’s crowded and tight and so fast-paced, with people yelling in Cantonese in every direction, BUT you really shouldn’t miss it. I mean heck, this small restaurant is on the Michelin Guide, so why not?

Joy Hing Roasted Meat: 265 – 267, Hennessy Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong.
Opening Hours: Monday – Saturday, 10:00 – 22:00

(And just in case you wanted to know)
Kam’s Roast Goose: G/F Po Wah Commercial Center, 226 Hennessy Road, Wan Chai
Opening Hours: 11:30 – 21:30

Aberdeen Street Social

Aberdeen Street Social is significantly fancier (and a tad more expensive) than the previous two, considering we ate here for our annual New Year’s Eve Dinner. Now be careful because this restaurant is hidden in plain site. I’m not even kidding when I say that the journey we took to get here deserves it’s own blog post.

img_2194
I want to be a bartender

Let it be known that Aberdeen Street Social had a special set menu on NYE so I can’t really talk about their regular menu, HOWEVER, the quality of food and flavor should still be the same right?

Anyway, going back to the restaurant, aesthetically, it’s what you imagine a speakeasy bar to look like, at least on the first floor. It’s dim, lit by candles, small lights, and the light coming from the bar, where their bartenders make pretty unique drinks. I think I had  a drink called ‘A Rosé by Any Other Name,’ and I’m pretty sure I enjoyed it. Alcohol, what can I say.

img_2197Moving on to the good part, I enjoyed the food so much. Aberdeen Street Social is by Michelin Star Chef Jason Atherton, and I am a firm believer that food at restaurants by Michelin-starred chefs are bound to be amazing. Again, we ate from their special NYE menu, so it was different from the regular one. There was a roasted halibut dish which was incredible. Now, I don’t eat fish, but this was the best fish I’ve ever tasted in my life. And of course, on the menu was also Beef Wellington. I had no idea what a beef wellington was. I had never seen, touched, or tasted one. That night, I pretty much had my mind blown. I…. I have no words.

Aberdeen Street Social: PMQ, G/F, 35 Aberdeen Street, Central
Opening Hours: Downstairs: 11:30am – 11:00pm Daily || Upstairs: 12:00nn – 3:00pm / 6:00pm – 11:00pm Daily || Sweet Social: 11:30am – 10:00pm Daily || (Weekend Brunch: 11:30am – 4:00pm)

Coffee shops

Now being a millennial, I have a certain affinity for photogenic, third-wave coffee shops. I have recently taken it upon myself to visit as much coffeeshops as I can (third wave or otherwise) and sort of review and document my experience. Hong Kong as a handful of said coffee shops and rather than let this post go on for too long, I invite you to check out my coffee instagram: @coffeewithiana for the all the coffee I drank in Hong Kong, and for other caffeinated stores wherever I go! Shameless plug is shameless


I’m pretty sure we went to more restaurants than this, but these are the ones that really stuck to me the most (or I can’t remember the name of the others). If you agree or disagree, please feel free to voice out your thoughts! I welcome diverse opinions. Of course, I’m sure everyone would appreciate more suggestions, so go ahead and comment your favorite restaurants in the land of HK!

As always,
Thanks for sticking with me
It is appreciated more than you know.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. chefkreso says:

    I would love to visit Hong Kong!

    1. You should! I highly recommend it!

Leave a Reply

