Park Connector Network

Today was my last full day in Singapore, and I started out a bit late. I ended pretty late too, so I guess it all just kinda of balances out.

I’ve been staying in my aunt’s apartment ever since my parents went back home, so for some meals, I’ve had to fend for myself, since my aunt has work to go to. Now, let me just start off by saying that I love television in Singapore. It reminds me of television in the States, which is pretty friggin’ awesome. So I went down to the mall (my aunt lives above a mall) and got myself some take-away xiao long bao and noodles from Din Tai Fung, and went back up to enjoy my meal in front of the TV. It was first time trying Din Tai Fung and it was absolutely delicious. They had just brought the chain to the Philippines and the line there is hella long. There was absolutely no line here in Singapore, so I took a shot. There is just something so satisfying about a plate of good xiao long bao dumplings.

A little after lunch, I headed out to explore the different parks in the city. I had heard about the abundance of nature parks and reserves in Singapore, so I wanted to check out the ones near where I was staying. The easiest would have been the Bedok Reservoir Park, but then I heard of a little thing called the Park Connector Network. The Park Connector Network, or PCN, is a series of routes all around Singapore connecting the different nature parks and reserves. And it’s not some hidden path away from the city. Nope. You actually go through the city, following signs pointing towards different parks. Every so often, the letters “PCN” are written on the ground, so you’re sure you’re on the right path. It’s freaking amazing. There are tons of paths and routes leading to different places. I saw that there was a route that went from the Pasir Ris Park, which is at the very end of the MRT, all

DSC_0526
BIKE PATH

the way to the Bedok Reservoir, so I decided to do that. My original idea was to rent a bike, which I thought would be fun. There are bike rental stations up and down the Network, and the great thing about it is that you can deposit the bike at any station, not just where you got it. Unfortunately, those plans were squashed. Apparently, you have to present an ID. As a foreigner, I thought my Philippine driver’s license would do. Apparently not. The guy at the rental place would only accept a Singapore residence card, or a passport, none of which I had on hand. Ok fine. So I walked. Turns out, the walking wasn’t bad. I had my camera so I got some pretty good shots in. It was nice and sunny out. It did get hot at times, but coming from the Philippines, it’s not like heat is a new thing. It was nice to see people out jogging or rollerblading or biking around. Those are the things that make me think that I could live in Singapore.

In the beginning, I was walking along a canal of sorts, and there were trees and grass

DSC_0560
Tampines

everywhere. An hour later, I got confused because I came to a sort of city. I was just following the Network path, and suddenly there were malls again. That’s what I was saying about the Network. It’s not some secret, special path. It leads you through the city, where you can really explore and reserve Singapore’s everyday life. I’m not sure exactly what part of Singapore I was in anymore, but people were coming home from work, coming home from school. It was the normal, non-touristy part of Singapore. It was wonderful.

2 hours and maybe about 5-7 kilometers later, I had arrived at Bedok Reservoir, which produced some very nice colors in the sky (I would say sunset, but no. Could not see it). The fact that I made it there just by following a few signs and paint on a sidewalk still amazes me. Especially when right at the very end, there was construction going on and the network got cut. I had to find my way to the reservoir for like the last 500 meters. I stayed at the Bedok Reservoir, chillin until the mosquitoes and bugs started to get really annoying, but it was worth it. People-watching is a lot more fun than it looks.

DSC_0650And because I had walked for 2 hours, I refused to walk home. As much as I tried, I could not figure out the bus system, so I splurged and took a cab.

That same night, I decided to visit Clarke Quay, but I’m not gonna tell you about that. As hard as it to believe, my time at Clarke Quay was extremely uneventful.

**I would just like everyone to know that I came back from Singapore like 2 months ago, but I thought this Park Connector thing needed some attention, so here I am trying to write from memory. Thanks for sticking with me anyway.

Leave a Reply

