Permanent scars

Okay the title makes this blog post a lot more dramatic than it actually is. Also, this isn’t really a travel post, but more of a first experience adventure post. Just a disclaimer.

So I’m going to tell you the story of my very first, very legitimate, very permanent… tattoo. Does the title make sense now?? I decided to make a post about this because I feel like the whole first tattoo thing was an adventure itself. So here I go.

I’ve been wanting to get a tattoo for about three years now. Three years ago, I was 18 and had just experienced the adventure of a lifetime, so I was all for more experiences. Unfortunately (or fortunately, depending on how you look at it), my mother laid down the law and said that I couldn’t get a tattoo until I was 21.

About a few months ago, I turned 21 and I started lookin for designs. I really wanted something to do with travel. Very typical, yes? Well I didn’t care. My first thought was a plane. Just a simple plane outline, small, no frills. But then I came across a tattoo of a compass, and I was in love. I knew I wanted it, and it did mean something to me. Of course, I had to be sure, so I used the picture of my design as my phone’s wallpaper, just to know that I wouldn’t get sick of it. True enough, up until the day of my tattoo appointment, I wasn’t. So I was satisfied.

I got my tattoo at this place called 55 Tinta (instagram: @55tinta). They’re pretty well-known so I felt like I was in good hands. So I get there, I sign a waiver form, and the artist fixes my design so it’s all symmetrical and the size that I want it. So it’s on paper, and he rubs what I think is alcohol onto the paper, so that the design transfers onto my back. The artist sets up, and then we begin.

I was hella nervous before this, not for the permanent body art, but more for the pain. I had no idea what it would feel like. So when the machine made that noise (which is not comforting at all), I got even more nervous. Then the artist started. I gotta say, it hurt a lot less than I expected. It did hurt though, don’t get me wrong, but it defintely wasn’t unbearable. If you take a paperclip, unfold it, push it into your skin a bit, and then drag it, that’s kind of what it feels like. As soon as I realized that it wasn’t as bad as I thought, I sort of relaxed a bit more.

Before I knew it, around 45-50 minutes later, I was done! I had it done on my back, so I had my sister take a picture of it. It looked absolutely perfect and it was exactly what I wanted. Amazing.

So there you have it. My first tattoo. It’s only been a few days, and my tattoo isn’t even fully healed yet, but I’m already looking into designs for my next one. But I’m feeling pretty picky, so it might take a while.

Until my next ink/adventure,

Thanks for sticking with me.

Leave a Reply

