Now I’m Free Falling

I went to Cagayan de Oro recently, and after the four days I’ve spent there, I realize how underrated the place is. It doesn’t get nearly as much attention as it should.

Cagayan de Oro is the capital city of Misamis Oriental, a province located in Mindanao, Philippines, and as far as I’m concerned, a pretty good place to have an adventure. I’ve been there quite a few times, but during this trip in particular, I did something I’ve never done in my life, which is willingly drop down from 120 feet in the air. But I’m getting ahead of myself. Let me explain. One of my classmates in college is from CDO, so I contacted her and she said she was going to take me to this place called Dahilayan Adventure Park. I had no idea whatsoever what is was, but it sounded great. So Surrounded by pinewe take a car from the city up to the park. The park itself is actually about an hour-and-a-half away from the city, in Bukidnon. It’s quite a drive, but on the way up, you pass by the Del Monte plantation, which is kinda cool. The park is on a mountain, so the view from up there is absolutely incredible. The grounds are filled with towering pine trees which make for a beautiful walk, or great profile pictures on Facebook. The main attractions, however, are the rides. If you’re looking for a thrill in a relatively safe environment, this is the place to go. they have a rope course, ziplines of different lengths, and an insane but absolutely thrilling dropzone. They have other stuff too, but those are the only things I went on.

First up, the zipline. If you buy the zipline package, it costs about P600 for all three ziplines. There’s 150m, 30m, and 840m. The first two are pretty normal, except for the fact that you’re zipping through pine trees. The last one however is 840 meters and is advertised to be the longest dual zipline in Asia. It’s just something you have to do. Instead of sitting down like the first two, you’ll be Zipline through the treesflying through the trees in what they call  a “superman” position. The thing is that it’s a lot easier to look down from that position, and you can see how long you’ll have to go in the small chance that you fall. But once you get over that, the ride is pretty awesome. You get surrounded by tall, green trees, and it’s a pretty cool experience. And despite the fact that you go around 60-80kph (so it says on the website), it’s a pretty long ride. Definitely long enough for you to get over your fear, if you had any. It;s one of those things where you’ll be done screaming, and it isn’t over yet.

The next activity we did was a ropes course. It’s like an obstacle course except you’re doing it way above the ground. And once you’ve finished one obstacle, there’s no turning back. That thing is a work out and was a hell of a lot harder than I thought it would be. My arms are still sore. It is a pretty satisfying feeling, though, once you’ve finished the whole thing. You sort of end up feeling a sense of accomplishment.

And now we come to what has to be the most adrenaline-filled thing I’ve ever done in my life so far: The Dropzone. Now that is insane. So what it is is a free-fall swing type thing. You start from the bottom (now we here), again in the “superman” position, and you are slowly lifted up to 120 feet off the ground. Like I said, you’re facing the ground basically, so you can actually watch the ground get further and further away. It’s freaky. And then, once you are 120 feet up in the air, you (or your partner, actually) have to pull this string, which release the cable holding you up there. And then? You fall. There are no words that will be able to properly convey the emotions I felt. You actually fall from 120 feet That black spot is us.and then you start swinging. It’s both terrifying and exhilirating and I would most definitely do it again. You should come with me, reader.

After that, the day was pretty much uneventful. But really, not many things can top falling from a height of 120 feet.

So next time you’re in Cagayan, check out this park. Admittedly, the prices aren’t the cheapest, but they have packages that can help you save money. We found this out a little late, though. Check out their website for more details on the rides and the prices: http://dahilayanadventurepark.com

‘Til next time! Thanks for sticking with me.

PS: This is not an ad for the park. I wasn’t paid to say any of this. It was just a fun day.

Leave a Reply

