Bonds

Someone told me that the best relationships you will have on your exchange year will be other exchange students.

Currently, I’m finding that out to be true.

One characteristic you have to have as an exchange student is to be open. Open to different cultures, different personalities, different people. You can’t close yourself off. You can’t only talk to people who speak the same language. With us, it’s like we meet for the first time, and 5 minutes later, we’re talking and laughing as if we’ve known each other for years. Imagine what 3 straight days will do.

Part of the reason is because we all understand what the other is going through. We have the same issues, and similar experiences, being in a different country and all. They’re people who don’t look at you strangely when you speak in English. They’re the people who you can come to when you want to rant because you know that they understand, and more often than not, they feel the same way. They’re people who understand what it’s like to feel homesickness, and at the same time never wanna go home. They’re people who don’t judge you or laugh at you when you make mistakes in the language.

I’m not saying I hate this. Not at all. I love it here, and I’m already thinking of when I can go back in the future. It’s just that everybody tells me that the first 3 months or so are hard. And it’s true, they are hard. The exchange students I’ve met so far make it all easier. I’ve literally now met people from all over the world, and they’re the awesomest people. Heck, we’re already planning to go to a friend’s house in Brazil for the world cup in 2014.

I don’t know if I’ve explained it properly.

All I know is that every single time I get together with fellow AFSers, I always have the best time.

That’s all I wanted to say.

And if you’re reading this, please pray for the eternal rest of my grandfather, who passed away this morning. Please pray for him, and also for my mom and her family. Thanks guys.

Leave a Reply

